Stumptown, 2013

28 Apr

I will not lie to you. I am fairly drunk and a little emotional so you are going to get this post.

Tonight I won the Stumptown Comic Arts award for best writing for The Legend of Bold Riley. I got to accept an award for something I’ve dumped all of my time into for the better part of a decade in front of my loved ones and some of my most treasured peers tonight. There was a couple minutes between my fevered emotion tears to thank some people but there were not enough minutes to say out loud how many there are. Let me do that now.

My parents Gwen and Chris Weathington, endlessly emotionally and finacially supportive of me.

The artists of Bold Riley 1, who worked so fucking hard on this book, Vanessa Gillings, Jason Thompson, Konstantin Pogorelov, Kelly McClellan. You are the best of the best and working with you was a dream.

Zan Christiansen my publisher at Northwest Press.

My old crew, Couscous Collective, Liz Conley, Sheanon Garrity, Andrew Farago, Pancha Diaz, Chloe Dalquist. These guys were with me from the start of Bold Riley and were endlessly helpful.

And now my new Portland family, David Gerber my handsome boyfriend, Jonah Rose, Mikey Nielson, Bobby Roberts, Erika Moen, Ben Coleman, Allen Bethel, Michael Ring, Kielen King, EVERYONE at Periscope Studios, Liz Allie, Jesse David Morgan…Jesus, I know I’m going to miss someone and feel awful later.

Comics are all I wanted to do with my life and I may be over reacting to this and I could go on about how hard I worked or that I’m hot shit, but here is the thing…

Without you- I’m nothing.

Thank you for reading.

3 Responses to “Stumptown, 2013”

  1. Erika Moen April 28, 2013 at 7:20 am #

    Love you, lady. That award is WELL deserved.

  2. Jason Nelson April 28, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    Awesome! That’s fantastic news! The Legend of Bold Riley is worthy, down to every word.

  3. burn70down April 29, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

