43 buttons

9 Sep

I promised on the last show to post some pictures of my wedding dress. I’m pretty casual about tradition but there was one I was pretty serious about one thing: My mother had to make my dress. Using a dress form made out of duct tape she made that whole dress on the opposite side of the country using measurements from about 6 months ago. She had to drastically alter the pattern to make it fit my bust. She dyed probably a dozen buttons trying to match them to the exact shade of the dresses fabric, and when that failed she sat and colored each individual button using an old watercolor pencil she had dug out of some of my old art supplies. By the way- that was 43 buttons.

Mr Gerber and Mrs Weathington

Mr Gerber and Mrs Weathington

All of that distance and guesswork and the fit was perfect. She hemmed it by hand once she got to portland, needle and thread by the shoddy light of a hotel lamp.

And if that is not the coolest shit you’ve ever heard you need to get the fuck out of my face. A million bridal stores couldn’t have given me the perfect dress for the perfect day, but my mothers tireless care and artistry could.

Thanks Mom.

Master seamstress, Gwendolyn Weathington

Master seamstress, Gwendolyn Weathington

One Response to “43 buttons”

  1. Linda Shortman September 9, 2014 at 10:24 am #

    Thanks so much for posting this! I love your stories about your parents and I think your Mother is a Superhero for making this dress. Absolutely spectacular! I have done weddings with both of my daughters, and helping them find the dress is my most cherished memory of the event. And yes, this post made me cry…in the best way. 🙂 Wishing you and David a happy life together. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

